‘Avengers: Endless Wartime’ review

Avengers: Endless Wartime/Marvel

Avengers: Endless Wartime/Marvel

Marvel is starting a new run of graphic novels with the release of its ‘Avengers: Endless Wartime’ hardcover book this week.  It’s the first in a series of original comic stories published in hardcover format (as well as for Kindle).  I love a good graphic novel/mini series because it presents a story without having to jump into an ongoing series.  Some of my favorites over the years include ‘X-Men: God Loves, Man Kills’ and ‘The Dark Knight Returns.’

What I like best about these stand alone stories is they’re darker than usual and commonly focus on the the hero resolving some psychological issue.  Pardon the broad descriptive strokes there.  ‘Endless Wartime’ fits the trope, but it’s not as fulfilling as I’d hoped.  I saw some mid- to low level reviews of the story and I think I understand why.

The plot had some interesting ideas, but they could have been fleshed out better.  I’ll try and avoid major plot points, but the Avengers come up against S.H.I.E.L.D. as a new threat is discovered, which was a nice change of pace.  However, that was only touched on briefly.  I also feel like I’m missing something, like this is part of an ongoing series and I’m starting a few issues in.

The characterization also seemed off.  As I have said often when it comes to comics recently I am behind, but Captain America’s inner monologue made him sound like a post-Avengers movie Steve Roger.  I’d wager that’s intentional to appeal to newer Avengers fans.  Cap’s focus on the past does serve the plot, which sees the return of WWII Nazi technology as a weapon.  However, the threat has now evolved and been merged with Asgardian creatures.

The writers added dashes of humor, usually at Tony’s expense (and a few times at Clint’s).  That included Iron Man being immobilized more than once.  Despite having the armor, Natasha and Clint were more helpful to the team.  The team sasses each other pretty well and frequently.  It’s almost like they’re supposed to be a barely put together team of top superheroes (again, either I’m out of touch of this meant to emulate the movie).  I mean, these are all veteran Avengers, it shouldn’t seem like this is their second outing together.

If I had to chose my favorite interactions between characters it’d be Captain America and Wolverine.  Logan plays up the fact Steve is the WWII golden boy and not the killer like Logan.  I like the tension and contrast, because it fits the darker theme of a graphic novel.  However, I find it hard to believe Steve’s non-lethal stance is just now an issue, or even that it’s always been an issue and Logan hasn’t stopped complaining about it.  Neither one feels right.

The next graphic novel in the series is ‘The Superior Spider-Man,’ which comes out in April, 2014.  I hope this one is better written than ‘Endless Wartime.’  I hope Marvel finds success with this new format.

If you read ‘Endless Wartime,’ what did you think?

What's your opinion?