The Tumblr Problem

Tumblr is a wonderful resource for fans of all types. It has a unique way of promoting a dialogue across fandoms via screencaps and fan art, fanfiction recs and massive text posts. If you like it, you can find it, and hundreds (if not thousands) of people who feel the same way.

But for me, the best part of Tumblr has been the discovery of new things to fangirl over. I came to Tumblr following a BNF (that is, a Big Name Fan) from the Soul Eater fandom. At first, I stuck to my own interests, posting and reposting mainly things to do with anime and Criminal Minds. However, in the process I began following a wide range of people who had other interests I didn’t particularly share. I must have looked at hundreds of Sherlock gifs before I caved and watched it, and what followed was an epic love affair with the modern re-telling of a classic detective story. Since then, Tumblr has introduced me to the Welcome to Night Vale podcast, brought me back to Shingeki no Kyojin after the first episode turned my stomach, and convinced me that Hannibal was worth a try even though the sight of blood makes me woozy.

ImageSo what, you may ask, is the problem with Tumblr? Well, spoilers are the problem. I knew River Song’s secret (River, the queen of spoilers herself) before I watched my first episode of Doctor Who. I’ve probably seen the entirety of Supernatural in gifs alone. On Thursday mornings, I have to avoid Tumblr until I get back from work at four so I can watch the most recent Free! Iwatobi Swim Club episode without discovering beforehand who was flirting with who while disguising it as the youthful bonds of male friendship.

And it goes beyond simple spoilers like these. After the taping of the third season of Sherlock began in the spring, there was an outcry among the fans as pictures began pouring in from the set. While some people were eager to gain access to new information about the upcoming season, many felt that they would rather wait and enjoy the new episodes with fresh eyes. Luckily, pictures from the set are now usually tagged under ‘setlock’ and can be largely avoided by uninterested fans. (Although, occasionally one slips through the cracks.) However, I believe this incident indicates a growing issue with spoilers on Tumblr.

Spoilers and all, I still love Tumblr and the new worlds it has taken me to. If you are the type who can’t resist shaking the boxes containing your Christmas presents before the big day, Tumblr might be just right for you. If, on the other hand, you absolutely love being surprised on Christmas day, you might want to avoid Tumblr, or particular portions of it, until you’ve finished every episode in that new show you’re watching, or every chapter in that new book.

What's your opinion?